Coming back to life..

This is perhaps my first post in a year. Well, I wasn’t hibernating nor was I “introspecting”. For all those who know me well, it shouldn’t be a surprise. Yes, I am indeed one of those souls who take pride in laid-back attitude of theirs. “Aalasya” is one of my strongest traits and the only word in English language that might come close to describing this great quality of mine is – Laziness. I would try to post on a regular basis, but no resolutions – I am averse to them 😉

It is Sunday afternoon and my head sways on a Pearl Jam’s track – “I’ am still alive”. As the ruthless strumming on the electric guitar reaches its crescendo, giving hallucinations to a true hard rock fan, the Bangalore electricity department abides by its promise of energy conservation and obliges us with yet another round of load shedding. Exasperated, I try to find solace in the FM radio of my mobile phone. (Yes, for all those who are wondering – All your conspiracies of battering my antique piece have paid off and I now own a phone that does have a FM radio as well as a colored screen 🙂 ) After remaining faithful for almost 6 years, my black & white Sony CMD J70 (Mind you, it was 100% pure Sony in those days, having a great philosophy of KISS – Keep It Simple Stupid! And without an iota of infiltration from Ericsson, it was indeed an impeccable beauty) couldn’t religiously follow the signals like the Hutch’s dog and I had to reluctantly move along with the same opinionated Nokia brigade who are fanatic about their mobile phones as if it helps them understand Einstein’s theory of relativity.

Left with no choice other than listening to FM radio, I feel a sinusoidal shift in the music genre. The identities started getting swapped from the loud Irish band to some desi, remix style, irritating crap. Confused with this chaos, I tune in to Vividh Bharati where “Aap ki farmaayish” is being played. The host is doing an outstanding job in reading out the names of people who have placed the request for a song. The list is endless – family members, relatives, friends, neighbors and the other blessed souls of entire mohalla. The eternal wait gets over and the song starts, but it is cut short by a family planning advertisement. All the curious listeners are being told about the advantages of vasectomy and many of us feel privileged to imbibe this free flowing gyan. Looks like our health minister, basking in the glory of his anti smoking tirade, is soon going to take stringent measures for population control as well. What’s coming up next, nobody is sure. Perhaps people might soon be paying fines or facing imprisonment for childbirth 🙂

FM or no FM, mobile phones could be some of the people’s biggest obsession. On a recent flight from Delhi to Bangalore (where I was labeled an outcaste by my neighbor on the onset itself, well proven by the disgusting look he gave me after staring at my mobile phone 😉 ), I came across the swanky phones that I hadn’t even seen in my dreams. Well, the guy had to carry this traveling hazard of sitting next to me where he was perhaps cursing JetLite officials for selling cheap tickets due to which an outcaste and poor guy like me was able to afford the air travel. During the landing, even the most gorgeous airhostess (Gosh!! Draped in six yards and an hourglass figure, she looked like Katrina Kaif) could not convince him to switch his phone off after the plane was still not ready to disembark. Just before getting up, I managed to sneak the text he was trying to send. It read – “Darling, I miss you”.

10 Responses to Coming back to life..

  1. Sarsij says:

    well observed and very well interpreted and extraordinarily explained……maza aa gaya….
    Waise yaar…..what could be the counterpart word for ‘eavesdropping’…..the thing which you were trying to do while trying to read ‘Darling,…..’ on your neighbor’s mobile 🙂

  2. Preety says:

    Hey Nishchay,
    It was just a couple of days back that i happened to meet Himanshu and we were discussing you and your blogging skills:)
    This was a long awaited one….come on, stop lazing arnd dude, atleast i miss u’r writings…
    Well, abt the blog, once again congratulations on the new blog but sorry for being honest that u got lost in u’r subject here (probaby got carried away explaing that u posess a new fone to u’r frnds:D), which kind of broke the continuity of the subject…
    Well, last but not the least, I enjoyed reading this one as well and more from you are awaited!!! Gud luck!

  3. Nishchaya says:

    @Sarsij : Bhai mujhe nahin pata ki eavesdropping ka counterpart word kya hota hai. Angreji mein to bahpan se hi kamjor tha, kahin se dhoond ke bata dunga 😉

    @Preety : Very well obseerved. Honestly speaking, I was myself not sure what I was trying to narrate. Perhaps, this blog was just for the sake of shedding the rust.

  4. Utk says:

    Nice, keep them coming !!

  5. Manjul says:

    good better excellent fanati outstanding…writing and reading as well ..keeping in mind that only “raam raam sarkar” can emit such brilliant combination..or composition thas says simplicity ROCKS!

    keep posting…
    Manjul

  6. Harinath says:

    You have very good art of narration which is beyond imagination of my poor englsh. Spend some time to write on Manhattan experience with lot of challenges 🙂

  7. B.Com says:

    Mast maza aa gaya.. Sarkaar aapki lekhan ke chahnewale zyada ho gaye.. it was too good a narration of Vividh bharti.., 🙂

  8. Ranjeeth says:

    Nischay, thanks for posting after a long time. It really was amazing, especially the FM part, I was laughing all the way. As i said earlier you have this tendency to deal with small intricacies of daily life with great humour to add to.

    Keep continuing buddy.

  9. Akansha says:

    Once again you have impressed me with your simple yet so impressive blog. It just depicts a life of a common person and one can so much relate with each word! You truly mesmerise me! And it is a pleasure reading all your blogs..so keep posting 🙂

  10. Akansha says:

    N yeah the best part was the sneak view of the message – but ye achhi baat nahin ;-)well who cares??…I dont 😉

Leave a Reply

